The castle was built in 1483 by Johann von Vřesovice on the basis of a permit from King Vladislav Jagiellonian. The villages of Trnovany and Šanov, which are now part of the city of Teplice, also belonged to the castle.
In the 17th century, the bastion fortifications went up, only to be used immediately in the Thirty Years War. First the Emperor’s army defended itself here for seven weeks before the garrison surrendered, repeating the exercise a few years later. This time the siege lasted twelve weeks, after which the Swedes retreated without success. But the invaders from the north had the last word when in 1639 they finally conquered the castle, only to leave the country for good five years later. Then the fortifications were pulled down for the great part, since the locals judged, based on their prior experience, that they more frequently served enemies then the locals themselves. Only the casemates remained intact and at the end of the 18th century the manor guard turned them into his quarters. This ended them military period of the locality.
The ruins continued to serve as a destination for romantic strolls, with a suitably placed restaurant from the middle of the 19th century. The neo-Gothic additions come from the end of the 19th century and were built by the owner of the town and the castle at the time, Edmund Clary-Aldringen.
At the end of the 1960s, Svazarm (the Union for Cooperation with the Army) took over the considerably damaged and inoperable complex. Since that time Doubravská Mountain has been the domain of radio amateurs and various cultural events are held here.